Stars: Pleiades

The Ray 3 triangle

Source of the third ray

One of the ‘big three’—Great Bear-Sirius-Pleiades/—at the root of esoteric astrology, the Pleiades are the source of Ray 3 for our solar system.

The Pleiades—also known as the “Seven Sisters”—like the Great Bear, have a long cultural history of association with personified powers as far back as the Vedic and Indus Valley civilisations; in the case of later Hindu Tantric belief the Matrikas or goddesses who were originally seen as personifications of the seven stars of the Pleiades. Rather than consorts of the Seven Rishis, a more accurate esoteric perspective would be to regard them as embodying and externalising the innate powers of the Rishis—initially on the mental plane and eventually throughout the third material aspect of creation.

In esoteric astrology, this association with the third “mother” aspect of “mind-matter” means that Ray 3 is their means of expression. Their possible derivation from ancient nature spirits (Sanskrit “yakshas/yakshinis”, also within Buddhic and Jain traditions) also connects with the Theosophical concept of “devas” as embodiments of the powers of nature, specifically connected with the third and (in manifestation) seventh rays.

Aquarius and Alcyone

“Aquarius relates humanity to the Pleiades and therefore to Taurus in an unusual manner. The key to this relation is to he found in the word desire, leading, through the transmutative processes of life experience, to aspiration and finally the relinquishing of desire in Scorpio. Aquarius, Alcyone and Humanity constitute a most interesting triangle of force. Alcyone is one of the seven Pleiades and is called the “star of the Individual” and sometimes the “star of intelligence.” It was potently active during the previous solar system wherein the Third [principle] was peculiarly omnipotent and active, just as today the [second principle] is peculiarly active in this solar system. The energies coming from Alcyone impregnated the substance of the universe with the quality of mind. As a consequence of this most ancient activity, the same force was present at the time of individualisation in this solar system, for it is in this system, and primarily upon our planet, the Earth, that the major results of that early activity have made themselves felt. Two of our planets, the Earth (non-sacred) and Uranus (sacred), are directly the product of this third ray activity.”

You have, therefore, the following line of force to study:

  1. Alcyone—in the Pleiades, the mothers of the seven aspects of form life and the “wives of the seven Rishis of the Great Bear”. They are connected with the Mother aspect which nurtures the “infant Christ”.

  2. Aquarius—the World Server, the transmitter of energy which evokes magnetic response.

  3. Jupiter and Uranus—planets of beneficent consummation. The second ray of love and the seventh ray which fuses spirit and matter “to the ultimate glory” of the solar Logos are in the fullest eventual cooperation.

  4. Humanity—the focal point for all these energies and the divine distributor of them to individual man and later to the lower three kingdoms in nature.

Pleiades triangles: